Connect with us

WHO Chief to receive GUBA ‘Exceptional Leadership in Global Health’ awards in Kigali


WHO Chief to receive GUBA ‘Exceptional Leadership in Global Health’ awards in Kigali

WHO Chief to receive GUBA ‘Exceptional Leadership in Global Health’ awards in Kigali


The Director General of the World Health Organisation (WHO), Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus will receive the ‘Exceptional Leadership in Global Health’ honours at the 13th edition of Grow, Unite, Build Africa (GUBA) Awards in Kigali, Rwanda.

The ceremony is slated for September 29, at the Kigali Convention Centre on the theme, ‘Ndabaga – Drumbeat of Dreamers and Legends’.

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus is an Ethiopian public health researcher and official who has been Director-General of the WHO since 2017.

As the first African in the role, his enormous experience and competence in public health and contributions to curbing and reducing the impacts of the virus at the height of the Covid-19 pandemic have globally attracted several admirers.

Commenting on his nomination for this award, GUBA Enterprise CEO and Founder, Dentaa Amoateng MBE said, “Dr Tedros’ contributions to global health issues at the height of the pandemic are unmatchable.

The ‘Exceptional Leadership in Global Health’ award is to recognize his demonstrated outstanding contributions to advancing global health through awareness and education in the pandemic”.

“GUBA is proud of personalities who are making the world a better place through their efforts and courage,” she said

This year, the GUBA Awards seek to celebrate a historical hero within the Rwandan and African communities.

With the chosen theme, the Awards strive to convey the power of determination and focus. The story of Ndabaga is a keystone of Rwandan folklore representing bravery and determination.

Designed to highlight the most inspirational and trailblazing individuals within Africa and its diaspora community, the GUBA Awards continue to gain endorsements from high-profile figures such as President Akufo-Addo, Jean-Claude Kassi Brou (president of the ECOWAS Commission) and more.

Some past winners, who have received recognition from GUBA include Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Dr Natalia Kanem, Dr Diane Karusisi, Vice President Epsy Campbell Barr, Sir Sam Jonah (Executive Chairman, Jonah Capital), and Cherie Blair (Barrister, Writer) Patrick Awuah (Founder of Ashesi University), Former Chief Marketing Officer of Netflix, Bozoma Saint John and CEO of Sundial Brands Richileu Dennis among several high profile individuals.

The GUBA Awards is proudly sponsored by Platform Capital Limited.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in whispers

To Top